How To Paint This Picture

How To Paint This Picture! Watercolor

Thank you for visiting my blog. Be sure to follow me for continuous painting techniques, tips and tricks on how to promote yourself as an artist.

The assignment for this painting was to start with something you hated and turn it into something you love. OK. So I started with orange and yellow and red paint – which I hate. Then I smothered it with black and alizarin crimson paint – which at the time I loved. I pressed leaves into the top of the (wet) painting, let them sit for several hours until dry, and I added what seemed to be tree shapes to me at the time. There was some medical gauze in the supply box the teacher had given us. I stretched it out, placed it on my paper, doused it in very watery black paint – also let that dry. (At the time I had no idea where this was going). While I was waiting for the paper to dry, I cut out a paper doll shape out of just plain white typing paper. Then laid it down. With a damp tooth brush I gently rubbed away some of the color, then added highlights with actual white paint. Ironically the paint I had put down previously showed through the shape of my figure leaving a ghost like shape. (a total accident). I did this painting in about three hours.

Leave a Reply

